March 18-21, 2024, Cyberspace

For talk abstracts and the event schedule, click here.

In March 2024, we held our first virtual Cell and Development Festival. This interdisciplinary mini-conference was hosted by the SMB Cell and Developmental Biology (CDEV) Subgroup and featured a week of virtual minisymposia highlighting research in our community, plenary presentations, panels, and dicussions. Times were selected to capture a wide range of timezones. Thank you to all our presenters and to all those who participated!

Recordings of the presentations are available on YouTube here:

Sincerely, Your CDEV Subgroup Officers

Invited plenary speakers:

  • Ruth Baker (University of Oxford)
  • Leah Edelstein-Keshet (University of British Columbia)
  • Gonca Erdemci-Tandogan (Western University)
  • Katerina Kaouri and Thomas Woolley (Cardiff University)

Panels and discussions:

  • Careers in Industry (featuring Robyn Shuttleworth and Steven ten Holder)
  • Future of Models and Platforms (featuring Gonca Erdemci-Tandogan, Nika Shakiba, Maria Abou Chakra, and Andrew Krause)

Minisymposium speakers:

  • Amanda Alexander (University of Houston)
  • Bradly Alicea (OpenWorm Foundation)
  • Maria Abou Chakra (University of Toronto)
  • Veronica Ciocanel (Duke University)
  • Raj Hossein (University of Sheffield)
  • Golnaz Karoubi (University of Toronto)
  • Diana Khoromskaia (Francis Crick Institute)
  • Andrew Krause (University of Durham)
  • Adam MacLean (University of Southern California)
  • Ander Movilla Miangolarra (John Innes Centre)
  • Eleni Papafilippou (University of Cambridge)
  • Shibashis Paul (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
  • Marc Roussel (University of Lethbridge)
  • Nika Shakiba (University of British Columbia)
  • Tracy Stepien (University of Florida)
  • David Romero Torres (University of Toronto)
  • Elizabeth Trofimenkoff (University of Lethbridge)

CDEV Subgroup Officers:

  • Alessandra Bonfanti (Secretary)
  • Maria Abou Chakra (Committee Member)
  • Carina Dunlop (Committee Member)
  • Tian Hong (Committee Member)
  • Alexandria Volkening (Chair)